94 posts
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Referred between 10 and 49 users
  • Sold between 5 000 and 10 000 dollars
  • United Kingdom
JimmyP says

Wow, this really hits home for me. Thank you for this insightful post Naomi.

I’m currently studying Computer Science at a university in the UK, and to be honest, it’s not going very well. The course is not exactly well “designed” – There’s an OOP module, a maths module, an Information Systems module and a “Managers and Organisations” module. The last two are utterly dull and completely detract from any enjoyment I could gain from the OOP module. They’re not just dull; I would definitely question their relevance to my course. Frankly, the IS module, is just re-iterating what I had to learn in secondary school.

I tried joining some societies but there were none that tickled my fancy.

I think universities in general have changed masses over the years, and people older and wiser than me can attest to this. They used to be a place where you could turn up to a lecture or seminar if you were interested, but now these institutions are riddled with requirements. The university process has morphed into a tick-box exercise… It doesn’t feel like learning; it feels like a chore…

This is just my limited opinion. I’m going to stop writing now.. I could easily talk for days on end about this topic!

34 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
  • United States
ChordsofLife says

Pretty much where I’m at now, except I focus a lot more on design than development. I’m also in the process of starting a business – exactly how you mentioned, simply by getting involved.

Unfortunately, time is a huge issue and I’m in serious danger of failing a class I need as a pre-req for a class next semester… to graduate. Stressed.

2317 posts
  • Repeatedly Helped protect Envato Marketplaces against copyright violations