57 posts
  • Located in United States
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Helped protect Envato Market against copyright violations
+7 more
HeckSarah Envato team says

I’m not sure how many people this will effect here but reading this story resulted in a very loud “FINALLY!” in my household.

The debt to income ratio for students leaving schools such as this is unreasonable, unfair and leads to many of them not being able to practice the art they went to school learn and if they can… it may result in living well under the poverty level.

I’m a trained artist, holding 2 degrees in art (which doesn’t make me an artist at all, trust me.) When I was ready to continue my education a few years back, I shopped around schools like Art Institute, Brooks, Art Center and states schools.

What I learned about Art Institute and Brooks was that they were pretty much art mills. No GPA requirement, no entrance exams or portfolio reviews. I applied and I was in, all they needed was my money ($40-$100k a year depending on where I went).

I’m curious to hear what other artists feel about the article (posted below) and the schools that churn out artists? Maybe you went to one of the schools mentioned and you have a different take? I’m keen to hear what everyone thinks about art and art education and the tactics used but some of the schools I mentioned.

Here is the link: http://petapixel.com/2011/09/02/us-gov-sues-the-art-institutes-for-11-billion-fraud/
4344 posts ThemeForest Reviewer
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
+12 more
Ivor Envato team says

:(

\\

57 posts
+7 more

My Internet consists of a squirrel and a hamster wheel. No wonder I am so far behind.

There is another article from last year.. I guess getting sued didn’t make a difference for the paper mill as the continue to whip out artists :(