12 posts
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 1-2 years
pamelarbaril says

dear authors friends,

i am new to coding and am considering to start selling themes on market place but i am a newbie and as am new to wordpress i have a made a theme by altering using other authors .css, $ .js coding so i was wondering whether it permissible on market place or will it get rejected.

or can i use the codeing of others by crediting their names on the in my themes or just use it

please help

1578 posts Don't Worry, Be Happy
  • Beta Tester
  • Grew a moustache for the Envato Movember competition
  • Elite Author
  • United States
  • Sold between 250 000 and 1 000 000 dollars
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Referred between 200 and 499 users
  • Most Wanted Bounty Winner
+2 more
FinalDestiny says

If you don’t have proper permissions to copy the code from other themes, then NO, you can’t sell the themes here. If you find some functions on the internet and it says you’re allowed to use them in any commercial theme, then yes, you can use them.

Most likely, a theme with most of the code copied will be hard-rejected.

111 posts
  • Sold between 10 000 and 50 000 dollars
  • Bought between 100 and 499 items
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • South Africa
WebDesignFudge says

Final Destiny is right, but on top of that, if you use code from other TF authors you will receive a DMCA take down notice from the author as well. So all around, it’s a bad idea.

948 posts How's the surf doing?
  • Elite Author
  • United Kingdom
  • Referred between 200 and 499 users
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 2-3 years
  • Microlancer Beta Tester
+1 more
tommusrhodus says

Whilst you may be able to modify others code to the point that no-one would notice it wasn’t yours, my short answer would be;

DON ’T!!!