61 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+1 more
derektoigo says

If I submit an HTML site template that uses jQuery, for example, do I need to explain how to edit the back-end code (I.E. functions) in my help file, or can I simply explain how to link it to the main HTML code and point users to another freely-licensed resource that explains it if I’m not experienced with it and can’t support it?

13 posts
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
iintense says

Not everyone who purchases scripts here has programming knowledge. It’s good to be as detailed and thorough as possible.

I like to take screenshots of every step from beginning to end. You can never be too detailed or include too much info.

962 posts
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
+5 more
webdesigndeluxe says

Deatils my friend, details.

2293 posts Bird is the word..
  • Located in United States
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $500,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
+8 more
jonathan01 says

I personally list all JS files in my help documentation and then supply a link to the items authors page (obviously if this is an open source script) where the user can see detailed instructions and see comments / join in however I then supply support if someone for example wants to change the rotation from manual to automatic on a scroller – I usually include the breakdown of the functions just like they would get from the jquery author – I find it best that users can see where a script came from and normally the author does a better job than I ever could – plus I feel it’s important to pass an end user through to that scripts author as a link back – I would want the same to be honest.