225 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
mihaimcm says

So when you are old you can retire and money will come at your home every month becouse you have some papers proving that you worked all your life given to you by your boss that hired you(or something like that) ,so what happens when you are a freelancer designer,etc, when I will become old and need to “retire” how will I recive money every month,can there be made some paper that will prove that I worked as a freelancer,or something like that?

2568 posts
  • Member of the Envato Team
  • Helped several times protecting Envato Market against copyright violations
  • Contributed a tutorial on Tuts+
  • Attended one of our Meetups around the world
+16 more
contrastblack Envato team says

Well, depending on the country of operation, you might be “forced” to pay a private pension and social security funds. Then again, those only provide “some” money for the pension, and I strongly recommend you look at a totally “private” pension fund, and pay that your whole life while you’re at it. That’s the thing about freelancers. Nobody pays anything for you as an individual, they only pay for your “services”, and the rest is up to you. That’s why you can charge slightly higher, but also have no vacation time, paid leave and so on and so forth.

Over here for example, most of such payments are made together with the taxes, and depend on profit amount. More profit > bigger payment > better pay later on.

Hope this helps.

328 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
+1 more
CLINE123 says

Many countries have a National Insurance System. You’re never penalized because you are a freelancer as you are in fact self-employed and I’m 100% sure though there may be private pension programs, the state will have a similar program.

1095 posts