3 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
  • Located in Canada
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
+1 more
j4n-co says

Let me say that I’m new to theme building, so I’m trying to get a grasp on who actually purchases themes.

From the outset, this might seem like a stupid question, because you would think the common scenario is: “Joe the plumber wants a website, so Joe gets some wordpress hosting and then buys you wordpress plumbing theme”.

However, I think there is a second scenario that is more prevalent, which is: “Joe the plumber wants a website, so Joe gets his cousin who knows something about web-design to setup Joes wordpress site. Joe’s cousin then buys your wordpress theme for Joe, and installs and modifies it for Joe”.

Which scenario do you think is more common? 1 or 2?

I ask because these scenarios have different design and marketing considerations.

If you’re building a theme for someone in scenario 2, then features like ‘bootstrap compatible’ are a big plus, whereas in scenario 1, having more ‘drag & drop’ type features is a bigger win.

Looking through theme forest, I see a lot of ‘bootstrap’ as a feature, which leads me to believe that scenario 2 is actually more common.

591 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
  • Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
+5 more
jayc says

Let me say that I’m new to theme building, so …................. Looking through theme forest, I see a lot of ‘bootstrap’ as a feature, which leads me to believe that scenario 2 is actually more common….........