29 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • United States
wahkeenasitka says

Hi Y’all..

I’m a Wordpress web designer, and in all my years doing WP, I’ve never seen anything like this. At the top of one of my client’s sites, there’s this strange hacking spam code that got put on the site. I have No Idea how to remove this. Any ideas? Plugins?

Here’s a page on the site w/ the problem: http://chimpanzeechronicles.com/sanctuaries/ It’s on several pages, including: Support, Book Events, etc..

I’ve deactivated a plugin. I’ve changed the WP password. I’ve upgraded to the latest version of WP. I’ve installed an anti-malware WP plugin.

So far nothing works.

any solutions will be greatly appreciated!

sitka

1017 posts Best-dressed man at PressNomics 2013
  • Attended a Community Meetup
  • Author had a File in an Envato Bundle
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Contributed a Tutorial to a Tuts+ Site
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has attended an Envato Live event
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
+5 more
Parallelus says

It looks like the ads are static and specific to each page they appear on. The content is always inside a container just after the tag with the class “sidebar_blogcontent” and from the rest of the HTML that looks like the naming convention for all the other sidebars also. They all start with “sidebar_” so it’s probably a real sidebar area designed into the theme.

Check the Widgets area to see if the code is getting inserted there. Next, check the individual pages/posts to see if there is an option to set this sidebar content directly from that edit screen. And last, look on the actual template files for to see if it’s been added there.

Since each ad is static it’s not likely to be a JavaScript creating them dynamically, rather something injected into the database or a file. I doubt it’s going to go away by disabling plugins.

279 posts
  • Sold between 50 000 and 100 000 dollars