4 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
Zidoo says

Hi, I am looking to take my site to the next level. Currently, my site is backed by Wordpress as CMS so it functions as a blog, but the next step is to become a Market Intelligence website.

Since the website is about a Niche in finance and financial markets, I am looking to add databases of fund performance, company profiles, and research papers. Furthermore, as the site grows in popularity, and demand for certain features and services grows,

Since I am not an expert in programming and IT, but proficient in finance, I am looking for advice. My question is:

-Should I continue with Wordpress. Will Wordpress allow programmers that I hire in the future be able to work on different complex features using APIs from Bloomberg for exemple?

-If not, what kind of platform should I use?

Thank you for your input.

219 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+2 more
NuclearThemes says

WordPress is a great platform and unless you have a large budget, it’s worth sticking with.

18 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Located in Europe
+3 more
webarto says

You can modify WP almost however you like, but it is definitely not the best for all purposes (there is no universal solution), porting to custom made platform shouldn’t be too expensive.

2457 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
  • Has referred 100+ members
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
+3 more
digitalimpact says

I’d go with Joomla, I use to be a wordpress nut, but here recently it has been letting me down. I feel Joomla is way more powerful and lets face the facts, It’s an actual Content Management System. Wordpress was built for bloggers.