111 posts
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • United States
Yeowza says

Hello guys, I just started studying up on page templates and I’m starting to wonder about them.

Tons of people blogging on “how-to” do a page template but they are just scratching the surface.

What I want to understand is.. what are they for?

What is the difference between coding a page from scratch and doing a page template? lol

If it is just a nifty way to code a page inside wordpress and save yourself from uploading it later then I think I will pass.

951 posts
  • Beta Tester
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 5-6 years
  • Netherlands
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Sold between 1 000 and 5 000 dollars
Daan says

Page templates ought to be coded from scratch as well. They’re templates for pages that will have other looks than your default (index) template.

So you want a certain section of your website to have a complete different layout compared to the rest of the site, you can create a separate page template to accomplish this. You’ll then assign this template to the pages you want changed and voila!

111 posts
  • Bought between 1 and 9 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 4-5 years
  • United States
Yeowza says

So they are mainly for changing the look of your site without having to code each individual page over again right?

So I won’t be missing out on anything if I don’t use them then.

Thanks for the reply Daan.

951 posts
  • Beta Tester
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Netherlands
  • Referred between 1 and 9 users
  • Sold between 1 000 and 5 000 dollars
Daan says
So they are mainly for changing the look of your site without having to code each individual page over again right.