19 posts
    Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
Jonathan_Vivid says

I’ve been searching for my syntax error, but because I’m new at this, I seriously cannot find it. I’m following video tutorials, and my code has to be wrong somewhere, because I’m getting this message:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ‘(’, expecting ’:’ in C:\xampp\htdocs\wordpress\wp-content\themes\runner\index.php on line 28

I feel like an idiot because I can’t seem to find it. However, whenever I take out the else statement, the code works fine. I just can’t find how to fix it. Anyone think they can take three seconds and make me feel like a fool? : P

<!DOCTYPE html public "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">

<html xmlns ="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" <?php language_attributes();?>>
<head>
      <meta http-equiv="Content Type" content='<?php bloginfo('html_type');?> charset='<?php bloginfo('charset');?>/>
      <title><?php bloginfo('name');?></title>
      <link rel="stylesheet" href='<?php bloginfo('stylesheet_url');?>'>
</head>
<body>
    <div id="wrap">
    <!--Begin Header-->
    <div id="header">
    <h1><a href='<?php echo get_option('home');?>/'><?php bloginfo(name);?></h1>
    <div id="tagline"><?php bloginfo('description');?></div>
    </div>
    <!--End Header-->

<!--Begin Content-->
    <?php if(have_posts()) :?>
        <?php while(have_posts()) : the_post()?>
        <div class="post_snippet">
        <h2><a href="<?php the_permalink(); ?>" title="Permanent link to <?php                 the_title_attribute();?>"> <?php the_title();?></a></h2>
        <?php the_content('Continue Reading...');?>
        </div>

<?php endwhile;?>
        <p><?php previous_posts_link('Previous Entries');?><?php next_posts_link('Older Entries');?></p>
        <?php else() :?>
        <h2>Sorry, but we could not find any posts!</h2>
        <?php endif;?>

<!--End Content-->

<!--Begin Footer-->
    <div id="footer">