Reviews for Olympus - Social Networking WordPress Theme

Reviews for Olympus - Social Networking WordPress Theme

By
4.74 (85 ratings) 4.74 stars
Cart 2,360 sales
Recently Updated Envato Checkmark
Well Documented Envato Checkmark

85 Reviews

for Design Quality

I love the UX design of all the demos on the Theme. Also the UI. It's quite intuitive. I like it.

Author response

We're happy that you like the Olympus theme!

for Other

I could not just pick one great thing, this platform is great. If I had to pick at it I would say some features run a bit slow, like the commenting.

Author response

Thank you for choosing Olympus! We will take into consideration your notes on the speed.

for Design Quality

I just love it!

Author response

We are happy you enjoy Olympus!

for Design Quality

I love this theme. Saved a lot of time setting up my Social Network site. There some minor bugs but overall I love it. Many of the plugins though like WP Bakery and the Slider are asking for Activation, but still works.

Great work guys! It's worth more than the price!

Author response

Thank you for choosing Olympus! We appreciate your fair review as well!

for Design Quality

Blends in flawlessly with youzer, a must have for any community running on buddypress, can't wait to see further compatibility with more plugins!

Author response

Thank you for choosing Olympus! We are happy you enjoy it ;)

From the start, the theme "looks nice" but in truth, it's riddled with bugs and poor support. It has very little customization features (except for the Youzer plugin) and what little you can customize is very difficult to find and do.

We needed a private site but the theme doesn't give that as an option so we use the BuddyPress Members Only plugin but apparently when in use, no can reset their password. Support's answer was to disable the private site so we can't have both.

Any page we made that was not in the BuddyPress core came up as a 404 error page no matter what we tried. We eventually gave in and had to be creative with how we got the information from those pages to our students in the use of sidebars. So don't think you can create pages and have them accessible to your community, won't happen!

Support is extremely slow in responding &when they do respond, they immediately close the ticket in their system so there is no real dialog about what works or doesn't work, or other plausible ways to fix an issue.

I ended up having to purchase the Youzer plugin just to get the updated version, the theme would not update any of the core plugins automatically &they offered no solution other than to "update the plugin" even though that was impossible to do from the admin side.

You would be better off to purchase Youzer plugin and BuddyPress and put them with a different theme. In the past I've always used the Kleo theme which, now after this experience, will be the one I am returning to. It offers far better options for customization. I don't know about their support because I've never had any issues which speaks volumes. After this last issue & no resolution from support, I'll be returning to Kleo.

I've had this theme less than a month & had to open 7 support tickets, out of 7 tickets, not one has been fixed by support. I've had to use workarounds for everything, & hire a tech assistant to figure out how to hack it.

Buy a different theme.

Author response

Hi,

We are sorry that the theme and our support didn't meet your expectations! We have to clarify all the points you mentioned.

1. We would be happy if you contact us via info@crumina.net and provide us more information on the missing customization features. It would direct us on what features have to be added and improved.

2. As for the BuddyPress Members Only plugin, our support agent suggested you a temporary solution by deactivating the BuddyPress Members Only plugin. But we have tested it on our development site later and it worked fine. In particular, the "Lost password" link worked well. So the problem must be with incorrect settings of the BuddyPress Members Only plugin. Please, understand, we can't support third-party plugins. But if we know a solution to any issues related to the third-party plugins, we are happy to share them with our customers.

3. As for the 404 errors on pages, this is not a common issue and our support agent asked you to send your website access credentials to check your settings. But you never sent them to us. I'm talking about ticket #3721, so the issue remained unresolved.

The cause of the 404 errors could be incorrect permalinks settings, incorrect set up of the .htaccess file, specific third-party plugins or their settings.

4. As for the speed of our support, we fully agree with this statement. First of all, we have many support requests and we have to deal with many issues. But due to the international quarantine, we are forced to stay at home and work from home with little children. So the speed and quality of the support could have decreased. We will improve our support quality once the quarantine is over. But still, we are sorry for it!

As for closing tickets, they are marked as closed by default, but they are not really closed. Customers can reopen tickets. Anyway, we are working to improve the ticket system to avoid misunderstandings.

5. The problem with updating Youzer was not related to the theme or our support. We have to point out that all bundled plugins are updated only together with the themes they are bundled with. This is a common rule written in the Envato Bundled Plugins policy https://help.market.envato.com/hc/en-us/articles/213762463-Bundled-Plugins#difference

You didn't update the theme that's why you couldn't update Youzer. Please, note that all updated are run via the Envato Market plugin. To activate the updating system, you had to enter your personal Envato Token. We don't know it, so we couldn't set it up for you.

We are sure that all of the mentioned issues are just misunderstanding. But we had to clarify all those points for you and for other users. We hope for your understanding! And we are really sorry for your bad experience with Olympus.

Best regards,
Crumina

for Other

The theme is great and comes pre packaged with everything one needs to get started. If you can’t get started the great team will help you get started.

Combined with the formidable Youzer plugin this is the best.

Thank you Tania for your support.

BUY THIS THEME. It works :-)

Author response

Thank you for choosing Olympus! We are happy you enjoy it ;)

by
by
by
by
by
by